Thought Dump. (One of many)

February 15, 2012 at 12:14 | Posted in Everything | 4 Comments

Collection of shit I wrote down. Or shit that adheres to some of my values, enjoy if you like, no one is forcing you though.

FOLLOWING STATEMENT IS RETARDED, PLEASE IGNORE. (Nate)

“Forget why it’s hard to say “Merry Christmas”. Forget why it’s hard to “Be a Man in America”. Forget that it’s hard to be a teenager. Forget it’s hard to be a woman. Forget that it’s hard to live in poverty. Because no matter the circumstances, you will always be prosecuted for being a human being, you will always suffer for being a human being. It’s not just hard to do these things, It’s just hard to be a fucking human being, and we should never assume there is a Universal truth, as there is only one Universal truth and that Universal truth is that there are no Universal truths.”

“Fear of action because of failure is no better then action with the possibility of failure.”

“Ironic that media became the very reason why it exists in the first place.” (I’m well aware of how redundant this sounds)

“Debaters armed only with the knowledge of their opponents weakness are morons.”

This needs no explanation.

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I liked everything posted here, especially the second idea about action.

    However, what’s up with the first paragraph? Not to say its ideas are wrong, but it is logically incoherent; and what I mean by that is that you went from talking about how it’s hard to be a human being (which I agree with) to saying there is no universal truth. Maybe revise that, separate them out, then it should be fine.

    I do have one question about the universal truth thing, though. Isn’t it a bit extreme to say there is not any universal truth at all? I actually talked about this in a short, short post a few weeks back:

    https://akhlog.wordpress.com/2012/01/25/subjectivism-the-denial-of-philosophy/

    If there was no connection between anything (a basic one: atomic structure), then how could anything exist as relative to each other?

    Also, hilarious picture there, though I don’t think some people will get it, so I’ll briefly explain. Capitalism makes people rich, and supposedly, those rich people will invest in “projects” which will allow the poor to become semi-rich. That’s what trickle-down means.

    Now, trickle down economics is not working right now (every time period has a “working” economic model); though it did happen at some point (it changed a lot of the poor working class into middle class, semi-rich workers), that doesn’t happen anymore. We are in the stage of a “pluralist economy” that is developing as we speak. The pluralist economy will be a mixture of state planning (Soviet communism style), consumer demand (the remnants of U.S. capitalism), and a subtle fascist “control” over all of this by a managerial, minority elite. So yeah, trickle-down economics is a joke that Republicans use to get elected, it isn’t actually in place in America. We have welfare-capitalism which is still in transition as a pluralist economy, which will be named “global capitalism.”

  2. My first statement is complete bullshit. I wholly regret writing it. Please Disregard.

    I personally despise “trickle down” economics, it’s a bullshit ideal that only favors the upper crust privileged white people. Of course there’s many who’d argue with me, and probably have a hell of a lot more research and experience with it. I really just don’t buy it, fear me, I’m a *gasp* collectivist.

    I tend to write this stuff down a lot, keep myself thinking. That first statement was sorta made up without any refinement, plus I made this when it was like 3 in fucking morning here, tired from sleep, rereading it now is just…blech. Overly Pretentious and poorly structured, I’m deeply ashamed.

    However, the last statement. I truly believe “There are no Universal Truths” but let me less vague here. By this I mean there is no “black and white” ideals that defines our rights as humans, or what the right or wrong way to go is. We can’t prove or disprove, and we can’t ALL collectively unify under ONE ideal. We need some form of conflict or disagreement. We can all argue about who gets what and how those needs are met, while I have a deep rooted hatred of capitalism (or rather, American Capitalism; a “Plutonomy”) and individualism, I don’t believe these ideals to be fundamentally wrong, individualism was sparked from free thinkers and philosophers, challenging the old ways finding ways to explore our humanity, That’s just awesome. Hell Even Marx thought Capitalism was good. Look how that turned out, but he’s rather irrelevant to my point right now.

    We can debate all we want, but we will often never find a solution. Philosophy is sort of a doomed part of ourselves, we can’t find a straight answer, yet we can’t just drop it completely. Because part of human philosophy is the ability to freely choose what you believe in, and follow through. (I’d argue though that this is limited, because I do not encourage hate speech or forms of harm upon other people.)

  3. “My first statement is complete bullshit. I wholly regret writing it. Please Disregard.” – “Overly Pretentious and poorly structured, I’m deeply ashamed.”

    Haha, it really wasn’t over-pretentious, I like the parallel style there with the statements. I just thought you should separate the ideas because they didn’t really go together. And I do the same thing when I write when I’m tired XD

    “I personally despise “trickle down” economics, it’s a bullshit ideal that only favors the upper crust privileged white people.”

    Yeah, in the past it did generate more wealth for people who were formerly enslaved by (the even worse) industrial capitalism; but that’s history, in the past. Now there isn’t really a need for it, it isn’t helping and will NOT help anymore.

    “By this I mean there is no “black and white” ideals that defines our rights as humans, or what the right or wrong way to go is. We can’t prove or disprove, and we can’t ALL collectively unify under ONE ideal.”

    Ok, that’s what I was hoping you meant. And you’re absolutely right, I’ll be posting something related to this statement soon.

    “We need some form of conflict or disagreement.”

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dialectic#Hegelian_dialectic

    (Y)

    “a ‘Plutonomy'”

    Sums up the American government and the corporations in bed with it quite nicely. Also, any nation within the UN can fall under this category. Multiple nations LOOOOOOOOOOOOOOVE the idea of creating a global capitalist system, and they would LOOOOOOOOOOVE to have a bloc-style government (that ruled over multiple countries; this gives corporations unlimited power).

    “We can debate all we want, but we will often never find a solution.”

    Watch this video, you’ll like it:


    I’ll make a small post about Zizek tomorrow. Look him up, he’s still alive!



  4. Another video to watch. Zizek at his best.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

