Ultisoft Gaming Co. and the Ultisoft Arcade are history + 25,000 Games Milestone Celebrated on the YoYo Glog

November 4, 2008 at 16:21 | Posted in Everything | 6 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

The start of today’s post covers two stories in one, as Ultisoft abandons his one-man company including it’s current project the Ultisoft Arcade to join smessy, starting things off with a new logo, meanwhile VOR makes a brief return after a libelous remark from one … mrsmes, of course! 😛

… in ultisoft’s post “The Ultisoft Arcade: CANCELED! and good-bye Ultisoft Gaming Co., hello the Mr.Smes! company”

ultisoft wrote:

“First of today, I am sadly announcing that I am canceling the Ultisoft Arcade…  I am canceling this project because nobody is willing to submit their games…  And why post a game hosting program ON YoYo Games anyway?

Also, I am giving up my company: Ultisoft Gaming Co.  I found out there is already a company named Ultisoft.  But, anyway, I am not changing my online name, so please still refer to me as Ultisoft.

I am going to be along side mrsmes in his company now as a graphics artist and game programmer.  I will provide graphics for him and help him make his games and of course our OS.  Also, I decided to make a new logo for the MrSmes! company.  I hope you like it…

If I don’t have any projects to work on right now, though, what do you think I should make?  I provided u guys with a poll about what type of game should I make…”

[to vote in his poll, click here and read ultisoft’s full post.]

Pilot wrote:

“I said Platform in your poll because many platformers that I’ve seen are extremely bland. Please, make it more than the average platformer.”

[I voted platform too. But only because I think platform games are awesome. 😀 ]

VOR wrote:

“Hello all.
Firstly Ultisoft, can you make Mrsmes understand that if he chats to anyone claiming to be Ivor, they are NOT me.

I certainly wouldnt chat online anyone from Yoyo, and in anycase I dont have any Microsoft products on my machine and refuse to use MSN.

Secondly, isnt the Mrsmes company going to cause confusion. You have the Mrsmes OS produced by the Mrsmes company and written by Mrsmes. – Ow my brain hurts.

You say you have no current projects, I thought you were working on the OS?

Oh and hi AKH, Tiger, everyone. Im sorry not have posted for a while but you all seem to be doing fine without me.

All the best.
VOR.”

ultisoft wrote:

“@Pilot: ok, i’ll be sure to

@VOR: Well, by no other projects, I meant I’m not making anything at the moment EXECPT for the OS.
And, OK, i will tell mrsmes that. I finally convinced him to use line breaks more often in his posts. Whats better: the first or second box?

My friend has a really cool blog. Its called the AKHlog. I go there every day. I love posting on here and being a part of it.

My friend has a really cool blog.
Its called the AKHlog . I go there every day. I love posting here and being a part of it.

Isn’t the second one better? I think so”

VOR wrote:

“Ultisoft,

I wonder if you direct Mrsmes to this comment which follows:

Mrsmes. As I put on your profile page I do not use any Microsoft products. I certainly do not chat to anyone from Yoyogames in either chat rooms or MSN.

You have suggested that I have “listened” in on one of your conversations.
I consider that statement to be libelous. What that means Mrsmes is that I consider that to be a defamation of me. I kindly ask you again to stop.

If you remember, I refused to speak with you in a chat before (just look on my profile) and the only chatting I do online is with the members of the open source campaign (who have no connection to Yoyo at all) we do this on an IRC channel which is locked. We are adults Mrsmes.

Moving on now, Ive repeatedly told you not to believe what people say to you, unless you have researched the topic yourself. I cant believe you think that Microsoft wants to have missiles, as even my friends son wouldnt believe that and he’s only 12.

I thought you had improved, and certainly in the realm of programming you seem to be getting better (from what Ive seen) but in terms of being on the net unsupervised I go back to my original opinion.
I do not believe you should be unsupervised. You are far too easily led, and this has shown time and time again. I believe that you should maybe take a break away from chatting to others. Why not just learn GM or whatever else you currently enjoy.

I do have to thank you Mrsmes. I understand that you are 17, but I think you serve as a warning to parents, that they should think very carefully before allowing their children to even surf on safe sites unsupervised.

I really hope you can hold your attention long enough to read all of this post mrsmes.

I do wish you well in the future, with whatever you decide to do, and I hope you take some of my advice and stay away from chatting to others on the net.

Ivor.”

LavaWave wrote:

“This reminds me of the retribution engine, It barely has any games and levels but it\’s not abandoned it is still going, It sucks for you to give up ultisoft better luck next time.”

ultisoft wrote:

“@VOR:
I would believe you would say that, but I wouldn’t. I agree that he is easily led, though, and thats why I tell him if he should believe whatever it is or not. I am currently convincing him that those blueprints are most likely fake, and somebody just uploaded it to Microsoft’s server as a prank, just to see how people will reply. Appearently, some people believe it. I don’t believe that, so that’s why I am convincing others to stop.”

… on mrsmes’ profile …

Ivor Biggun wrote:

“Mrsmes, I told you before I NEVER use chat programs and I certainly NEVER use MSN. The person you met claiming to be me was an IMPOSTER.”

mrsmes wrote:

“well how come u got my conversation, then it must have been u, or some one.

someone here Ivor has been listening on my msn conversations, I suppose u found the unencrypted conversation on the net, look Ivor that was private just don’t do it again man.”

MelonYoshi wrote:

“Even if I don’t know Ivor very well, I know enough that he would never do that…Plus, you’d have to put the conversation onto the net…
OMG! REVELATION!
MRSMES IS CONSPIRING AGAINST HIMSELF!

But please stop with blaming other people for “making conspiracies” against you.”

Ivor Biggun wrote:

“Mrsmes. I will tell you again. IT WAS NOT ME. I would not use a chat program to talk to anyone here. You have advertised your msn account here before, so anyone could chat to you.

Mrsmes, you have issues.
I have far more important things to do than listen in on a conversation. BTW To do what you are suggesting, would require me to be scanning ranges of IP’s on a chat network which would total millions. How on earth would anyone be able to find yours.
The network you use to chat is secure (as far as I know) if you have a problem with it, take it up with Microsoft, not me.

The only way I can access the MSN network (if I wanted to) is through Pidgeon and I dont even have that installed.
I use the IRC network on a closed password channel, and I dont know why Im bothering to tell you this, as you wont understand…

The reason why I havent posted here recently is due to the fact that Ive given the open source cause enough promotion here. Ive moved on. This little accusation has caused me to return, and by the way I consider it libelous. I kindly ask you to stop it now.”

And lastly for today, Mark Overmars made a post on the YoYo Games Glog. You all know what happened next.

… in the YoYo Glog Post “25,000 Games”

Mark Overmars wrote:

“Today we have reached a very important milestone for YoYo Games: The site has now 25,000 complete games. We reached this in slightly over 500 days, so close to 50 games per day. I think a congratuation is in place for all the creators of those great games. Together you have made YoYo Games the site that has by far the most games of all game sites in the world.

Of course I know that many of the games are of rather poor quality. But by allowing all games on the site everybody is stimulated to create games. Maybe the first games are not very good but over time people will learn to create better and better games. By providing supportive critisism and by playing and rating the games you will encourage them to continue creating more interesting games.

So please keep submitting all you creations. And please keep playing and rating all games on the site. And add your comments and reviews. The next target is 50,000 games.”

Wireless wrote:

“Hurray, if that was you’re goal, then maybe it’s time to think about other things, like improving game maker so people can make faster and better games that runs on mac, linux and so on.
Anyway, good job about being so popular, keep up the good work!”

Caniac wrote:

“No, our next target should *not* be 50,000, it shuld be better quality games.

hows the mac port coming?

-Caniac”

[One comment before the Mac Port got mentioned. is that a record?]

Noobfarm wrote:

“Better yet, hows the C++ runner coming? We haven’t heard about that in quite a while.”

Bob the BlueBerry wrote:

“a) YoYo Games just likes to brag about their games, even though they all suck.

b) They probably don’t even have 1/10th of the Mac port done, and they don’t want to look like idiots, so they aren’t telling you anything.

– Bob”

rab236 wrote:

“on youtube they Private Messaged me saying the mac port will be out this month. i can’t wait.
@ Bob the Blueberry, check the yoyo games youtube page to see the mac port. they are still just working out minor bugs. other than that GM for Mac is finished. it has been in private beta so there wouldn’t be many flaws in the public beta. don’t comment saying there will be flaws because of couse there will be; it’s still in BETA.”

Caniac wrote:

“G-Flash will probably be done sooner than the mac port.

I don’t know why people like the C++ thing so much, as for me, I don’t care. if it makes people happy, then ok, but I consider it a large waste. unless I see a linux/whatever port coming out of it, which I don’t (yet)”

JAk HAk wrote:

“C++ would be good.
25000. Wow. Somehow I am very disinterested.
Yoyo, this is how it is. GM is really starting to disinterest me. I’m switching over to Flash. I don’t know if you care, I don’t really care if you care. I just thought you might want to know that you are losing your audience.”

Tasty Ham Games wrote:

“25000?

How is that not much? Its an amazing amount of games, with about say 1000 of them great quality. Also:

GM > Flash.

Actually, if you check YYG we actually have almost 60,000 games… even though most have been removed or are incomplete. Congratulations YYG

And they don’t all suck 😡
(In response to Bob the Blueberry.)”

Caniac wrote:

“yes, GM is a lot better than flash, but I still enjoy working on G-Flash, as a hobbey, and cause I am sure that perhaps one day it will be good.

Also,
could somone explain why everyone is nuts about the C++ thingy? it makes no sense to me.”

T-Bird wrote:

“Well here’s my 10 cents:

Discussion on GM for Mac: The discussion so far is irrelevant, but if I must… Who cares if it’s going “slow”. It’s still more progress than the project would have made before Mr. O joined the YYG team, which by the way is none. Plus you act like the team’s having 25000 games has some how distracted them from developing the mac version, which is absurd since the games made require no time of theirs, they are user made. So again, it’s an irrelevant discussion.

GM for C++: An even more irrelevant discussion, and this change is less for the user advantage and more for the developer. A C++ port will mean little/no immediate added speed or ability to the GM program, only ease of development for the team. It’s an irrelevant discussion as well.

Now, on topic: It’s great that YYG has so many games now. That’s a great milestone reached, and like was mentioned, because there has been an increased user base we will hopefully see a great increase of quality games over the coming months and years as these newly stimulated users start to learn more about GM. Even if several of the games are of low quality currently, the YYG team is giving the creators a place to share and grow, which can only lead to their learning and making better projects in the future.”

RhysAndrews wrote:

“Why do you all have to turn every blog entry into a discussion about Mac ports, C++ runners, and so on? Stop being so impatient, enjoy what you have at the moment. Whining about it in every blog is not going to do much except waste the staff’s time – taking ‘next target’ out of context is rediculous.

I’m sure they’re going to want it out as much as you guys do – because it means more players and more developers, and hence more hits to the website.

Congratulations on 25,000 games! I bet 50,000 is just around the corner.”

Mark Overmars wrote:

“I understand that some people are anxiously awaiting the Mac port. However, the Mac port is not done directly by us but by other people (that we of course pay for their work). So we are dependent on their progress. As Sandy has pointed out in the past there have been some set-backs because of the limitations of the software environment used. But work is progressing and many games created with Game Maker are now running on a Mac.

We will make further announcements when there is something to announce. And unfortunately (both for you and for us) at the moment there is nothing to announce in this regard.

– Mark”

Wireless wrote:

“I heard some rumors about a compiler to gm, is that true?”

Caniac wrote:

“@Mark,
thankyou Soo much

@wirelesss.

Compiler? you me [i]DE[/i] compiler?
or enigma or whatever? I thjink enigma somehow compiles games of somthing.”

VOTE OBAMA VOTE OBAMA VOTE OBAMA VOTE OBAMA VOTE OBAMA VOTE OBAMA VOTE OBAMA VOTE OBAMA VOTE OBAMA VOTE OBAMA VOTE OBAMA VOTE OBAMA VOTE OBAMA VOTE OBAMA VOTE OBAMA VOTE OBAMA VOTE OBAMA VOTE OBAMA VOTE OBAMA VOTE OBAMA VOTE OBAMA VOTE OBAMA VOTE OBAMA VOTE OBAMA VOTE OBAMA VOTE OBAMA VOTE OBAMA VOTE OBAMA VOTE OBAMA VOTE OBAMA VOTE OBAMA VOTE OBAMA VOTE OBAMA VOTE OBAMA VOTE OBAMA VOTE OBAMA VOTE OBAMA VOTE OBAMA VOTE OBAMA VOTE OBAMA VOTE OBAMA VOTE OBAMA

Edit by Ultisoft:
VOTE MCAIN – PALIN VOTE MCAIN – PALIN       VOTE MCAIN – PALIN VOTE MCAIN – PALIN VOTE MCAIN – PALINVOTE MCAIN – PALIN  VOTE   MCAIN – PALIN   VOTE  MCAIN – PALIN    VOTE MCAIN – PALIN   VOTE MCAIN – PALIN      VOTE MCAIN – PALIN  VOTE   MCAIN – PALIN      VOTE MCAIN – PALIN  VOTE MCAIN – PALIN  VOTE MCAIN – PALIN  VOTE MCAIN – PALIN  VOTE MCAIN – PALIN  VOTE MCAIN – PALIN  VOTE MCAIN – PALIN  VOTE MCAIN – PALIN  VOTE MCAIN – PALIN  VOTE MCAIN – PALIN


6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. “AKH, Tiger, and anyone else with a grasp on reality I think Ill leave it there.”

    I DO have a grasp of reality here. I was just saying that I think somebody just made those blueprints up; I doubt Microsoft will do anything.

    I read this blog EVERY DAY, and I know everything that goes on here.

  2. btw: lol on the extra comments at the bottom of the post, but I just had to edit it to make it more true of a suggestion…

  3. Quote “I DO have a grasp of reality here. I was just saying that I think somebody just made those blueprints up; I doubt Microsoft will do anything.”

    Please Ultisoft read your own words. You say “I doubt Microsoft will do anything” – Doubt? Doubt?

    If you cant see that the whole notion of a missile being made by MS is completely and totally a thing of fiction (and a deluded + unhealthy one) then you have my sympathy.

    There are no doubts, MS is not doing anything like that (and couldnt even if they wanted to)

  4. “btw: lol on the extra comments at the bottom of the post, but I just had to edit it to make it more true of a suggestion…”

    MINE WON 😛

    :D

  5. […] in my post “Ultisoft Gaming Co. and the Ultisoft Arcade are history + 25,000 Games Milestone Cele… […]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

