PP Custom Adoptable Ideas Update

May 15, 2008 at 15:58 | Posted in Everything | 2 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

The original title of this post was going to be “Quetzal gets Naked” because of this topic in Random Chit-Chatter [not what some of you may be thinking], but I thought better of it. Instead I made it about what this post is actually about – the updates since yesterday surrounding the Custom Adoptable Auction and potential Cash Shop make-your-own-custom-for-$25 adoptable.

First of all, the bidding in the Custom Auction has slowed down, with Yoshi backing out slightly and Lt. Jessie still having the last word … or more, number: $240.

Secondly, Cyde made a response to my post yesterday in the potential new custom adoptable selling idea, as well as a response to Quagthistle’s (interesting as can be expected) post. I can show you this best through a series of 3 post-quotes, which can be found in the original topic sitting among the vast sea of “no, $25 is too high … because I’m 10 and I can’t afford it” posts, as well as the occassional one that says yes.

I wrote:

“I don’t really see how simply storing someone’s (small therefore obviously low filesize) image on your (I assume more than big enough to handle it) server and then having a little bit of code added … if any … since with my understanding of how this site works, which unfortuantely is extremely limited as all I’m doing is actually speculating how the site’s code is written [>.<] none, if any code should actually need to be added … [but to get back to the point now] I don’t see how this is worth $25. Way too much if you ask me … especially since it could be possible to have it entirely automated, no?

Quagthistle wrote:

Cydewinder wrote:

“I set the price very carefully. I decided what I thought was reasonable, and then added a few dollars on. Why did I do that? Because I studied economics at school. A higher price creates less demand. Less demand means they remain rarer which means that there’s less work for us (As I said it’s going to be manual to ensure integrity), and they remain special. The few people who we lost by raising the price are covered somewhat by the higher pricepoint. It’s a tradeoff, but judging by the responses I think it’s worked. Funnily enough (with the exception of Quag 😛 ) I basically picked most of the people who are saying yes as people who would say yes.”

“The Quag is rarely predictable. 😀 As for buying one, well, I’m *sure* that I would probably buy one, even at $25, however, if the price were a bit cheaper (say $15) and it was possible to trade that ability to make a custom to others, I would probably buy *several*. So, to me, if it was a matter of $25 once or $15 several times, I’d go for the $15 several times (because it results in more money in the end for only a tiny bit more work). It’s this policy that keeps Wal-mart afloat. If they sell something $1 cheaper than the store next door (even if they sell that item at a loss), the resulting patrons buying more than just what they came in for makes up for it. A $1 profit 10 times is better than a $2 profit once.

Take the current Cash Shop adoptables, for example. I have bought one of each color and kind and extras to trade because the price is so low ($3). If the price were higher (say $5), I would probably only buy one of each kind. If the price were even higher than that (say $10), I would probably only buy the ones I really like, which so far would be the a Dragon, Wuri, and Cherion. So comparing the three price ranges, at $3, the site makes around $75. At $5, the site makes $25. At $10, the site makes $30. Now, by my math, upping the price doesn’t always make more profit. True, at $10 the Cash Shop adoptables would be more rare, but if fewer people buy them, what’s the point? (But I never had economics in college, so it’s always possible that I may be mistaken.)

And I’m glad to hear that the customs would be monitored. I can only imagine some of the gory, innappropriate things people might come up with, and since I like to check out PokePlushies over breakfast, I always prefer not to be grossed out. 🙂

~Quag”

Cydewinder wrote:

“Quag: The ability to obtain a custom adoptable could be traded. We’d set up a $25 basic adoptable in the cash shop which we’d turn into your custom when you send us the image, so you could trade that one.

AKH: You misunderstand me. It’s not that I need to write extra code. It’s that I’ve spent hours and hours and hours writing code for this place for free. Christine has done the same with images. We started out paying for hosting out of our own pockets (But now ads cover our current server). We have made a great product, and now we have the right to charge what we want for it to recoup the losses in making it. It’s like a pharmaceutical company, they develop the drug, then sell it for a high price to recover the development costs.”

[bolding added by AKH for emphasis]

So, there you have it, hope for the younger members of PP who want their own customs, the ability to get your own custom adoptable would be tradeable. 😉

http://www.pokeplushies.com/forum/viewtopic.php?pid=347288#p347288

My guesses as to how this site is coded are probably way off, I assume since you’re proposing $25 that you [contrary to my first guesses] would have to write some sort of script or code extra for each adoptable, and if my second guess is right … well, I still don’t think that’s worth $25. $15-$20, maybe, but you said no haggling so I’ll just stop here. ^__^

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. AKH: You misunderstand me. **It’s not that I need to write extra code.** It’s that I’ve spent hours and hours and hours writing code for this place for free. Christine has done the same with images. We started out paying for hosting out of our own pockets (But now ads cover our current server). We have made a great product, and now we have the right to charge what we want for it to recoup the losses in making it. It’s like a pharmaceutical company, they develop the drug, then sell it for a high price to recover the development costs.”

    Emphasis mine.

  2. Don’t worry, I understood 😉 I still think this is a good idea, just a little too pricey when you compare it with the usual $3 adoptables in the Cash Shop. Adding more higher priced items there might make the $25 custom blend in better.

    I suppose it’s also because I have the habit of thinking dollars = pounds, which means I’m thinking £25 (which is $50) rather than $25 (which is £12.50).


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

