Announcing the Quotes of the Week page

February 6, 2008 at 16:28 | Posted in Everything | 16 Comments
Tags: , , ,

You may or may not have already seen it, it is the Quotes of the Week page! you can post ordinary comments, but no spam or off-topic stuff, it’s all comments so I want it easily navigatable, and you can also post your own quotes, please state who said them and if possible give the date and some background information.

Something I just added to it is a “best quote of the week” feature, where the best quote of the week from the quotes of the week is decided on and posted in a certain format, so it’s easy to recognise.

This may or may not be stage 1 in this thing moving from just a blog to a proper website.

Other news on this blog is that Akismet [or Failkismet] no longer classes Tuntis’ comments as spam. 🙂

 Apart from here, for the first time in a while, everything seems quiet. No posts on mrsmes’, fatherofsmes’ or my YoYo profiles, no arguments, nothing much posted by mrsmes on the forums and nothing at all posted by mrsmes on his blog.

Well, I haven’t had much to talk about today, have I?

16 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. XD I noticed that they don’t delete accounts too!

    I’ll have to see the spamming you’ve been doing.

  2. It seems that YoYo can’t even delete accounts on their website (more like they don’t even bother to).

    I’ve been experimenting on how to spam shit up there most efficiently (with targets such as Nekru). About time they start improving it…

  3. hi fatherofsmes! Hope your plans for your entry go well.

  4. Hi! Im back from work early…. Ive probably not got much time free until the weekend….but Ill be posting a little over the next few days…

    Im current working on an entry for the Breakpoint demo party in Germany on March 22….Im hoping to get over there with our group….

  5. Akismet [A.K.A. Failkismet] seemed to think it was spam.

    I’ll see what I can do about it … it’s becoming a nuisance [or as mrsmes would say, a nuesense].

  6. “Hope your plans for your entry go well.”

    OOh thats disgusting….!

    On a serious note, you could do alot worse that check out http://www.scene.org – give ya an idea of what we do…

  7. Strange, my last comment didnt submit…

  8. News just in….

    In the flaming topic on the yoyolamers forum, bobserge has linked to this blog, (in reference to comments AKH made in the past)

    Talk about free publicity…..Thanks bobserge, we’ll be getting some more hits for that one….

    Nailog has reported Tuntis to an admin….oooooh I bet he’s frightened….

    The world of yoyolamers…..I love it….

    AKH, Ill catch up with ya later mate.

    In 1990 it was the 68k crew of choice, relaunched for 2008 ….it begins….again…fucking ya on the PC.
    {******* ******}
    “We eat your code Mother-fuckin raw”

  9. Wow, Yoyogames website is so low that even Nailog acts like a complete jerk, Nailog reported him and didn’t erased his comment XD, I think they should remove him from a mod tough.

  10. lol, Yoyogames is slowly grinding to a halt….oh dear….I dont think yoyo really cares, and I cant see how at £10 a pop and the audience being children , how they can make money…..

    I bet Nailogs real proud…..the moderator on a forum frequented by children…….what a cool guy…

    The thing I have against GM is this….GM represents our society today……if you dont want to go to the supermarket, they deliver….if you dont like your body, they can operate on it…cheap technology, fast food and everyone wants everything now….

    GM says to people, “hey! wanna impress your mates with great games? wanna jump right in, without learning why the computer is doing what its doing? Step right up then, £10 a pop and you wont have to worry about any of that…”

    People are too impatient to learn coding, so they justify using GM by saying “Ill progress onto something else later, when Im good at GM” It’ll never happen, either they will become bored or they will take a look at another language and shudder at the though of event handling, interupts, memory addressing……

    I never had GM when I started coding…hell most of the monitors only displayed green & black at that time. I used MSdebug to experiment with asm, toyed with pascal (dos ver) and then moved to C++ keeping my asm roots intact….

    GM users can make games that work, but dont understand why they work…this is a something which will “deadend” any programmer….afterall if you dont know why something happens, how can you understand it and improve it?

    They say GM is good for children….yes it is if they dont want to take their interest any further….If they are serious about working in the industry or even just want to learn a language like C++…dont touch GM with a bargepole.

  11. “Nailog has reported Tuntis to an admin….oooooh I bet he’s frightened….”

    Tuntis doesn’t care about anything he does on YYG, so I didn’t do anything to “frighten” him.

    “Nailog reported him and didn’t erased his comment XD, I think they should remove him from a mod tough.”

    A moderator has to click on a single comment twice to remove it. With each click the page has to reload. There are over 1400 comments that need to be deleted. You do the math to figure out how long it would take to remove them.

    I contacted an admin to tell them the tools need improvement. Tuntis did me a favor by showing YYG once again how important mod tools are.

    If you’re willing to spend a day deleting comments that can appear again with minimal effort, for no pay whatsoever, please contact an admin and let them know. I’m sure you’d be a great moderator.

    “I bet Nailogs real proud…..the moderator on a forum frequented by children…….what a cool guy…”

    Somebody has to do it. Assuming responsibility, even if you don’t want it, is part of being an adult.

    If any of you have a problem with me, please speak your piece to me, instead of snickering about it around a corner.

  12. hey, if we don’t say it “around a corner” as you put it, and instead put it on YoYo, what’s to say you’re not going to just delete it?

  13. You’re always welcome to send me a PM bitching at me for what I did / didn’t do. Or send me a PM with a link to your blog so I can defend myself.

    🙂

  14. “You’re always welcome to send me a PM bitching at me for what I did / didn’t do. Or send me a PM with a link to your blog so I can defend myself.

    🙂 ”

    but you’d definitely delete that though, wouldn’t you? ^^

  15. “It’s people who shall remain nameless that no longer get explanations, as I’m tired of repeating myself.”

    I’ll assume by “people” you actually mean “mrsmes”. 😀

  16. Nah. I don’t mind explaining my actions to people who can actually reason. It’s people who shall remain nameless that no longer get explanations, as I’m tired of repeating myself.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

